3 Wild Fun Facts About March Madness

March Madness, formally known as the National Collegiate Athletic Association Men’s Division One Basketball Tournament, started back in 1939. That was an interesting year. That same year the 1939 New York World’s Fair introduced TV to the general public. The promoters of the fair said television would help uplift humanity. That has proven to be true – television is an amazing invention that has brought humanity such uplifiting, quality entertainment such as Mr. Ed, Joanie Loves Chachi and The Real Housewives of Des Moines.

TV Announcer: “Next on the Real Houseweives of Des Moines, Anabelle returns her cow to Esther because she ain’t giving up no milk, and sparks beging to fly.”

March Madness is sometimes called the Big Dance. Similarly, the American Presidential election cycle is sometime called the BS Shuffle. “The BS Shuffle is a dance where grown men and women compete to see who can flip flop the most in the shortest period of time,” a dance expert explained.

March Madness consists of 64 teams divided into 4 brackets. Well, actually, now it’s 68 teams, but who’s counting.

Crazy Basketball Fan: “68 teams? What the hell? Why not let almost everybody in and run the tournament through June. Oh, wait, we have that already. It’s called the NBA Playoffs.”

About Joe Ditzel

Joe Ditzel is a keynote speaker, humor writer, and really bad golfer. You can reach him via email at
[email protected]
as well as Twitter, Facebook, Google+ and LinkedIn.