Golf Rules: Putt Hitting Downed-Flagstick

Courtesy Missouri State Archives
Courtesy Missouri State Archives

Do you get a penalty if your ball hits a flagstick laying on the green?

The bigger question is why are you putting with a downed flag laying between you and the hole? Did you expect to be able to jump over the flag like a BMX champion flying through the air at the X-Games?

This isn’t a rules question. It’s a question about your common sense.


About Joe Ditzel

Joe Ditzel is a keynote speaker, humor writer, and really bad golfer. You can reach him via email at [email protected] as well as Twitter, Facebook, Google+ and LinkedIn.